Mother’s Day

Whether you enjoy Mother’s Day for what it is or think of it as a “Hallmark” holiday… there’s no denying the day exists.  I find it interesting the expectations of some moms – disappointed/complaining that they did not receive a card from their husbands. To each his/her own… however, I am not one of those moms; I don’t have to worry about my husband disappointing me on Mother’s Day. It’s easy to get caught up in “wanting” or “expecting” things, especially when you see other people around you receiving things – perhaps it causes a yearning – AND – with social media (ie, Facebook), it can literally be in your face. Of course, it’s nice for my hubby to acknowledge all that I do for “our” children, but on Mother’s Day, I’m actually THANKFUL to him, for giving me the opportunity to be called Mother (actually, that’s not true, because all my kids call me mommy or MOMMY or MMMOOOMMMMYYYYY!!!!!!)

However, I choose to view Mother’s Day differently than having expectations of “what my family is going to give or do for me”. I don’t expect my children to be thankful for me. Of course, I hope that they are – but, it’s not for me or a “holiday” to force the issue. Most days I do my best, some days I’m a crab… but EVERY day I LOVE my children and am thankful for the 4 very special gifts that God has blessed me with; coincidence that Mother’s Day always falls on a Sunday??…

Anyway, since becoming a mom – I am always thankful that I was able to become a mom AND I feel for those who yearn to be blessed with that opportunity. I also feel for those moms who have lost a child and for those moms whose children are fighting to survive. I am thankful that my family has not had to experience any of those “heart-breaking” situations and today, especially, I remember and pray for all of the moms whose Mother’s Days are painful.

Of course, I enjoy cards & gifts & especially the recognition and I would be lying if I didn’t say that I would be disappointed if my children did not wish me a Happy Mother’s Day… mostly because I’m just one of those kinds of people that LOVES, LOVES, LOVES holidays & celebrations – the kid inside of me can’t help but get excited. There is also one thing that I have wished/asked for, for many years, for Mother’s Day and I’ve never received it. This year, I didn’t wish for it… and I realized that it was sort-of a foolish wish. Are you wondering what I’ve always wanted? A CLEAN/ORGANIZED house; but today, I realized that the reason I’ve never received this wish is because, I’ve received another gift instead. I received the gift of  time spent with my children – time spent hanging out, messing up the house. I also realized that this needs to be an EVERY day wish for it to actually become a reality -duh!

So – what did I get for Mother’s Day?- well, aside from waking up with the WORST allergies ever (I went through a whole box of tissues in less than half a day & one of my eyes was totally blurry/swollen all day) AND I discovered an awful smell in the coat closet (after taking everything out, I realized that there was a dead/decaying mouse in the electrical socket, thankfully this is the first time I’ve found one inside the house) — this is off topic, but “weird & gross” stuff seems to frequently happen to me/my family on holidays – if you’re a betting kind of person, or even if you’re not – this is certain to be a future post. Anyway, I am thankful that I discovered “it” before the smell/situation became worse. Also, I found my “missing” second set of car keys & am so thankful to have a back-up set of keys again. Of course, they were where I guessed I would find them, but haven’t been able to for 6+ months.  My youngest left them upstairs & they slid under the couch in our play room….long story.

However, the things I’m most thankful for today are – #1) my children are all healthy (and I am thankful for that every day…) and as a bonus, each of them, in their own unique way, individual to their personality, wished me a Happy Mother’s Day! My older son wished my a Happy Mother’s Day in bed along with a kiss & a hug. A little later, my youngest gave me a hug that lasted at least 30 seconds. My husband drove me to Starbucks where we used gift cards to purchase 1/2 price Frappucinos (LOVE those drinks…LOVE them twice as much at 1/2 price) and my youngest tagged along, too. Kinda fun to have a ratio of “2 parents to 1 kiddo” for a little while. I also scored a SmartSource coupon packet, sounds silly, but I was happy about that, too. Then, I arrived home to, “Mom, don’t come in here.” Five minutes later one of my daughters presented me with flowers in a hand-made cone. She also gave me a handmade/pop-up card and 2 certificates – 1 for a back rub (2 uses) and another for a foot-rub (3 uses) — OH BABY, I’m excited about these… and I received a card from my 14 year old, addressed to Mommy and telling me how much she has always loved me & that she thinks I am the best mommy ever. I am FULFILLED ❤

About Baking 4 Six

Hi I’m Dianne – welcome to my happy place. Join me as I share my adventures in baking and love of sugar, spice and life one recipe at a time. Besides baking, I love teaching. Many of the recipes include the reasons & the whys for the ingredients. My goal is to make your adventures in the kitchen fun and the learning enjoyable along the way. Thanks so much for stopping by!!
This entry was posted in holidays/celebrations, Mother's Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment